Call for Nominations for the 2020 NPA Awards Program

The National PACE Association (NPA) has announced a call for nominations for the 2020 Marie-Louise Ansak Award, the 2020 Judy Baskins Volunteer Leadership Award, and the 2020 Outstanding PACE Nurse of the Year Award. The deadline for nominations is Aug. 7.

The award recipients will be honored during the 2020 NPA Annual Conference this fall in San Diego. The Outstanding PACE Nurse of the Year will be recognized on Sunday, Oct. 11, during the Nursing Symposium; and the recipients of the Marie-Louise Ansak and Judy Baskins Volunteer Leadership awards will be recognized at the Leadership and Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, Oct. 13.

More information is available on the nomination forms:

Marie Louise Ansak Award

The Marie-Louise Ansak Award was created in 1999 as a tribute to the founder of PACE. The award recognizes the ingenuity, hard work and sacrifice of an individual PACE program employee who has worked to improve the quality of life for one or more frail older persons during the past year (July 2019 to June 2020).

The criteria for nominees are as follows:

  • demonstrated unselfishness, originality, innovation and creativity;
  • enhanced the PACE program, interdisciplinary team and participants;
  • made a difference in the life of one or more PACE participants; and
  • epitomized the concept of “team player.”

List of past recipients.

Judy Baskins Volunteer Leadership Award

The Judy Baskins Volunteer Leadership Award was created to recognize volunteer leaders for their significant contributions to NPA. Much of the success of NPA can be attributed to the commitment, passion and inspiration of our volunteer leaders.

When Judy Baskins stepped down as NPA board chair in 2002 after eight years, the NPA Awards Committee decided to present her with the first Volunteer Leadership Award. Subsequently, the award was renamed the Judy Baskins Volunteer Leadership Award in recognition of her exceptional leadership at NPA since its founding in 1994.

The criteria for nominees are as follows:

  • provided outstanding leadership to NPA through participation as a board, committee or task force member or in another leadership capacity;
  • demonstrated commitment to furthering the growth of NPA and PACE;
  • effected positive change in the association; and
  • advocated on behalf of the individuals served by PACE.

List of past recipients.

Outstanding PACE Nurse of the Year Award

The NPA Nursing Consortium presents the 2020 Outstanding PACE Nurse of the Year Award, which distinguishes an individual who provides and promotes the highest quality nursing care for PACE participants.

The recipient of this award will be a nurse currently employed in a PACE program who embraces and promotes the ideals of PACE, including person-centered care, empowerment of participants and families, and support for the interdisciplinary process; enthusiastically promotes the role of the nurse on the PACE interdisciplinary care team; and contributes significantly to PACE by developing, promoting, and ensuring quality, evidence-based nursing services.

The criteria for nominees are as follows:

  • has at least three years of experience in PACE;
  • provides expert and compassionate nursing care to frail elders;
  • enhances the PACE program, participants and interdisciplinary team; and
  • makes a difference in the life of PACE participants.

List of past recipients.

Other Awards

NPA Public Service Award

The NPA Public Service Award was created to recognize public or elected officials from federal, state or local governments. Awards are presented annually at the NPA Spring Policy Forum. To be nominated, individuals must demonstrate a commitment to PACE and the individuals it serves, advocate for the growth and expansion of PACE, and provide leadership on behalf of NPA and its members.

Recipients of the 2018 NPA Public Service Awards are U.S. Reps. Lynn Jenkins (R-KS) and Ron Kind (D-WI), State Sen. Dave Hildenbrand (R-MI), and Laura Otterbourg, director of Aging Services at the New Jersey Department of Human Services.

List of past recipients.

PACE Special Recognition Award

Robert Edmondson, outgoing CEO of On Lok Lifeways, in San Francisco, CA, received this award at the 2016 NPA Spring Policy Forum.

PACE Lifetime Achievement Award

The PACE Lifetime Achievement Award was created to recognize policy-makers who have demonstrated an unwavering and sustained commitment to improving the lives of seniors through the PACE program. The award recognizes the central role the person has played in the development and ongoing success of the PACE program. Congressman Peter Stark (D-CA) received this award in 2013.

There are more than 260 PACE centers in 31 states. Find your local PACE program.

Back to Top